Fine Arts Commission Minutes Sept 11, 2012

Minutes of the Fine Arts Commission held on September 11, 2012.


Members present:       Susan Ackley                          Miryam Rojas                                    

Abbie Salt                                Michael Stock                        

David Traupman


Members absent:        Maria Echevarri Taddeo


Also present:               Jerry Estep, Recreation Director

                                    Leslie Rackl, Executive Assistant

                                    Carmen Darnell, Artist


The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m.


Mr. Stock made a motion to approve the minutes of the August 14, 2012, meeting.  Motion seconded by Ms. Salt and unanimously approved.


Mr. Estep gave a financial report at this time. It was noted there is $1470 in the donation account; $151 in the FY2012 budget; $2901 in the spring concert budget and $3188 in the art in public places budget.


Discussion turned to the 9/11 Memorial dedication program held earlier that day. It was suggested that a second small plaque is needed that denotes the structure is a piece of the World Trade Center wreckage, which could be affixed to the base of the memorial. Commission members acknowledged Ms. Ackley for her dedication in fundraising for the memorial.


Discussion turned to the October 5th artist reception. Mr. Stock and Ms. Rojas both are in contact with guitarists who could provide background music for the event, for $75 and $50 respectively. Mr. Stock made a motion to allow Ms. Rojas to offer up to $50 for a musician to play for one hour at the artist reception. Motion seconded by Ms. Salt and unanimously approved.


Discussion turned to the October 13th Street Fair and the artist submissions. At this time artist submissions were distributed to Commission members. Ms. Ackley noted that artists Carlos Gonzalez and Ernesto Kunde have already been accepted; Carol Jazzer has been promised half of a tent. Mr. Traupman noted since a call to artists was made for the event, it does not seem fair to charge the artists subsequently. Discussion was made to have two artists per tent. Artists under submission are Jacqueline Roch, Jenifer Day Clark, Shawn Clark, Susan Maguire, Christian Bernard, Silvia De Rosa, David Siqueiros, Eugenio Jaramillo, Carlos Gonzalez, Ernesto Kunde and Carol Jazzar. Ms. Rojas does not feel that it would show well if two artists shared one tent. It was noted that there are six tents for the artist to utilize. The following artists have been juried into the show and will be given a tent: Carlos Gonzalez, Ernesto Kunde, Jacqueline Roch, Christian Bernard, Susan Maguire and Carol Jazzar. Each artist will be required to provide their own display method. The Commission also juried in their second tier choices: Shawn Clark, David Siquieros, Silvia De Rosa and Eugenio Jaramillo. These artists are welcome to participate, but would need to provide their own tents, as well as display methods. Ms. Salt has volunteered to set up the table for the Xtra Art Sale. Ms. Ackley noted that the Kelley Roy Gallery is not participating in the event.


It was noted that the January artist reception will feature H. Allen Berkowitz. It was suggested that Mr. Berkowitz and Antonio Ugarte (Village Hall Lobby artist) have a joint artist reception on January 18th.


Discussion turned to the t-shirts for the Commission members. Ms. Rojas distributed copies of the samples she designed. Happy Endings gave a quote of a $90 set up fee and $8.99 for men’s crew shirts and $13 for ladies ‘v’ neck shirts. Custom gave a quote of $33 per shirt with a minimum quantity of 12, but no set up fee. Ms. Salt made a motion to allocate up to $200 to purchase t-shirts from Happy Endings. Motion seconded by Mr. Traupman and unanimously approved.  


It was noted that the Commission is talking to the Dorsch Gallery about a replacement for the ‘Duke’ sculpture.


The meeting adjourned at 7:40 p.m.